Also, I think I found my personal style sweet spot!

Claire Dunphy (from Modern Family) + Deb Morgan (from Dexter) = My happy spot.

I really love pretty, high maintenance clothing, but if I am to examine my life and dress appropriately, its a mix of casual knit tops and jeans, button ups for when I am feeling “fancier” than casual, suiting separates and dresses for when I have to get “fancy”.  I lean towards solids, but like patterns if they are stripes or plaids.  I have a few odd floral prints, but tend to favor floral prints in dresses.  I also have a soft spot for animal print accessories, low heeled boots and leather coats.  I like things that I can throw in the washer and can’t be bothered with dry cleaning or hand washing.  I don’t own any high heels over 1.5 inches and plan to keep it that way.  I am more comfortable in a sports bar than a dinner theater and like it that way.

When I break it down like this, it is so easy to figure out things that are “me” and things that aren’t.  I know what cuts and colors I like and pretty much ignore trends.  I don’t want to stand out, but I don’t want to disappear.  

Leave a Reply

