Turning Daydreams into Reality

I spoke last night of wishing of a closet full of perfect sheath dresses.  I figured there was no better time to start than today!

I have one “easy” sheath dress pattern, McCall’s 6699 (http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m6699-products-44755.php?page_id=96) and I have some muslin on hand.  I copied the pattern onto poster board (wow – so much easier to draw the pattern onto the fabric and then cut!)  That way, if I have to make some changes or cut a different size, I have the original pattern, unscathed.  I am a convert to copying the pattern rather than pinning and cutting it.

Image

Image

I am rather shocked with how easy (so far – but I haven’t gotten to the zipper, pockets, or lining, lol) it is and how quick the bodice came together!  I like how the pattern is sized like a normal pattern but also has cup sizes.  I am between cup sizes, so I went with the larger one for now.  I feel like the bodice might be a little large, but I will have a better idea when I get the skirt attached and install the zipper.

I hope to find some time this week to keep working on it, but school is pretty time demanding, as well as still trying to fit in a good workout every night after work – and before cooking dinner.

Leave a Reply

