Pictures and THE PURGE!

Image

This is my closet – ready to go from 1 January to 31 March.  The left is work clothes (which aren’t counted), the middle houses my P333 collection, the shelves contain sweaters and accessories on the first two shelves, then the selected jeans and finally workout clothing (also aren’t counted).  My side of the closet looks SOOO bare compared to DH!

Image

Ever since last fall, I started feeling overwhelmed with my stuff.  It just seemed like it was growing to fill every empty space in our home.  P333 was my first experiment in doing more with less – and it whetted my appetite for downsizing.  There are times that DH thinks I have lost my mind, but I have been going through my belonging a little every week, in what I call “THE PURGE”.  This is my current charity pile, minus another dresser, which hasn’t made it downstairs yet.  I figure the more dressers/storage I have, the more likely I am to fill it – so simple solution would be to get rid of it!

I have FOUR garbage bags full of very nice, barely worn, closet orphans, black clothing, and other articles that I just didn’t love enough to keep.  I really hope they are enjoyed by someone else.  So I began with clothing, then I moved into the bathroom and started purging my cosmetics, toiletries, lotions/creams, perfumes, etc.  My mom is going to get a nice surprise in the mail next week!

I went through my books, which have always been tough to get rid of, but I never re-read anything so I am not sure why I am hoarding them, when they can be enjoyed by someone else!  I went through my jewelry – mom will be receiving more surprises!  I realized that as much as I keep trying to buy “statement jewelry”, it just isn’t me.  I prefer gem stone studs, pearl button earrings, plain gold chains with a low key pendant, and other “simple” jewelry.  I also got rid of all the silver toned jewelry since I don’t wear it at all anymore.

THE PURGE has been continuing into the kitchen and other areas of the home.  I am trying to consolidate my cookbooks so I can donate the ones that I only use a couple of recipes out of it.

I am ashamed to admit that everything in that pile is mine – I am not forcing DH to purge (even though I would be thrilled – but he’s not quite ready to do a large scale cleaning/sorting session).  It is eye opening to see the buy-purge-buy-purge cycle and how much money has been wasted.  I want to break that cycle and am really hoping this RTW fast will help cure me of the compulsive desire to buy stuff!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

